Saturn Run

“Fans of Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers will eat this up.” –Stephen King

For fans of THE MARTIAN, an extraordinary new thriller of the future from #1 New York Times–bestselling and Pulitzer Prize–winning author John Sandford and internationally known photo-artist and science fiction aficionado Ctein. 
 
Over the course of thirty-seven books, John Sandford has proven time and again his unmatchable talents for electrifying plots, rich characters, sly wit, and razor-sharp dialogue. Now, in collaboration with Ctein, he proves it all once more, in a stunning new thriller, a story as audacious as it is deeply satisfying.
 
The year is 2066. A Caltech intern inadvertently notices an anomaly from a space telescope—something is approaching Saturn, and decelerating. Space objects don’t decelerate. Spaceships do.
 
A flurry of top-level government meetings produces the inescapable conclusion: Whatever built that ship is at least one hundred years ahead in hard and soft technology, and whoever can get their hands on it exclusively and bring it back will have an advantage so large, no other nation can compete. A conclusion the Chinese definitely agree with when they find out.
 
The race is on, and an remarkable adventure begins—an epic tale of courage, treachery, resourcefulness, secrets, surprises, and astonishing human and technological discovery, as the members of a hastily thrown-together crew find their strength and wits tested against adversaries both of this earth and beyond. What happens is nothing like you expect—and everything you could want from one of the world’s greatest masters of suspense.

Nanci Arvizu, Writing and Reviews Editor

Write Publish Promote at Cowgirlheart Media
Write, Publish, Promote. Words I am learning to live by. Want this to be your motto too? Join me and together we'll navigate the path to publishing success.

Latest posts by Nanci Arvizu, Writing and Reviews Editor (see all)

About Nanci Arvizu, Writing and Reviews Editor 2429 Articles
Write, Publish, Promote. Words I am learning to live by. Want this to be your motto too? Join me and together we'll navigate the path to publishing success.

3 Comments

  1. Earth and beyond I had my doubts at first when I saw that John Sandford wrote this book with a co-author. So often the more famous author gives way to the co-author and what the reader is left with is a novel with little trace of what you expect from a favorite writer. ‘Saturn Run’ is the exception. From the first few pages Sanford’s wry humor shows through; Ctein‘s presence seems to be intended for the astounding amount of credible technological detail. 

  2. Techno-thriller about First Contact with Aliens – of course, it’s all about people For me, sci-fi really only works if it’s still about people. And for better or worse, while technology gets better human nature stays the same. That’s what makes Saturn’s Run so fantastic. Confronted with the realization that 1) there are aliens out there and 2) they seem to have an outpost near one of the rings of Saturn, the key questions are which country is going to get there first and what will the new discoveries do to the balance of power on earth? From the discovery of the Americas to…

  3. Sandford and hard SF—a very nice pairing The year is 2066. Sandy Darlington, a lab assistant at the CalTech Astrophysics Working Group, is expecting another boring day scanning through observations from the lab’s four telescopes when the computer suddenly types out “CRITICAL ANOMALY”. Things start to get interesting fast as it rapidly becomes clear that this “anomaly” cannot be a natural phenomenon. Humanity has just seen its first evidence of alien intelligence, and it appears that something is moving…

Leave a Reply